The Iranian


email us

Flower delivery in Iran

Fly to Iran

Sehaty Foreign Exchange

    News & views

Iranian Heritage
Excellence in education awards

The Association of Professors and Scholars of Iranian Heritage (APSIH) conducted its third annual graduation ceremony for outstanding graduating students of Iranian background, last Saturday, April 22, 2000. The event was attended by about 300 friends and family members of the graduates.

In his welcoming speech, Dr. Kamran Abedini, President of APSIH, asked the graduates to become role models for the youth and the future generation of the Iranian community by aiming high, and trying to achieve the highest positions in their fields of study, while at all times acknowledging their Iranian heritage.

The program started by introducing those who were to receive the Distinguished Scholar, and Distinguished Service awards of the association. The recipients were Professor Lotfi Zadeh, father of fuzzy logic and fuzzy system theory, Dr. Hassan Dabiri, a pioneer in petrochemical education in Iran, Dr. Farroukh Ajir, chief of neurosurgery at the Kaiser-Permanente Medical Group, and president of Kaiser Foundation Hospital, and Mr. Ali Razi, member of the board of trustees of the California State University system.

Approximately seventy students were recognized and received certificates of Excellence in Education, with expected or awarded degrees ranging from high school diploma to doctor of philosophy. Some of them were also chosen to receive special financial awards and trophies, namely:

- Neda Afsarmanesh, The Dr. Mojtahedi Award of Excellence in High School Education
- Sara Shokravi, The Ali Razi Award of Excellence in Community Service
- Mona Karimpour, The Ali Razi Award of Excellence in Community Service
- Farnoush Sarafian, The Award of Excellence in Accounting Education
- Hossain Heidari, The Abadan Institute of Technology Alumni Association-USA Chapter Scholarship.
- Mehdi Hashemian, The APSIH Award of Excellence in Leadership
- Shahrdad Lotfipour, The APSIH Award of Excellence in Leadership
- Shahram Shidmand, The Melkonian Award of Excellence in Dental Education
- Dr. Daniel Behroozan, The Zakaria Razi Award of Excellence in Medical Education
- Dr. Negar Ghafouri, The APSIH Young Scholar Award

At the conclusion of the program, Dr. Iraj Ershaghi, a founding member of APSIH was honored by the association for years of devoted service to enhancing student lives. He then asked the Iranian community to cooperate in raising the needed funds to financially support those outstanding students, who, due to financial constraints, are unable to continue their successful education.

Bijan Mortazavi, a talented Iranian singer and an expert musician also participated in the program and acknowledged his cooperation to help raise scholarship funds for the students of Iranian heritage.

To view the list of all the honored students, and also acquire information on APSIH, please contact them at //


 MIS Internet Services

Web Site Design by
Multimedia Internet Services, Inc

 GPG Internet server

Internet server by
Global Publishing Group.