The Five Divine Presences in Sufism

In Sufism, [the] universal degrees are called the “Five Divine Presences” ( khams al-Hadarat al-ilahiya). In Sufi terminology they are: the “human realm” ( nasut), that is, the domain of the corporeal, since man is created out of “earth”; then the “realm of royalty” ( malakut), so called because it immediately dominates the corporeal world; next comes “the realm of power” ( jabarut) which, macrocosmically, is Heaven and, microcosmically, the created or human intellect, that “supernaturally natural” Paradise which we carry within us. The fourth degree is the “Realm of the Divine” ( Lahut), which is Being and which coincides with the uncreated Intellect, the Logos; the final degree — if provisional use can be made of such a term — is none other than “Quiddity” or “Aseity” or “Ipseity” ( Hahut, from Hua, He [or It]), in other words, the Infinite Self.        Frithjof Schuon FORM AND SUBSTANCE IN THE RELIGIONS, Bloomington,  2002, p. 53.       

Meet Iranian Singles

Iranian Singles

Recipient Of The Serena Shim Award

Serena Shim Award
Meet your Persian Love Today!
Meet your Persian Love Today!